I wanna be yours – Arctic Monkeys

I wanna be your vacuum cleaner
Breathing in your dust
I wanna be your Ford Cortina
I won’t ever rust
If you like your coffee hot
Let me be your coffee pot
You call the shots babe
I just wanna be yours

Secrets I have held in my heart
Are harder to hide than I thought
Maybe I just wanna be yours
I wanna be yours, I wanna be yours
Wanna be yours, wanna be yours, wanna be yours

Let me be your ‘leccy meter and I’ll never run out
And let me be the portable heater that you’ll get cold without
I wanna be your setting lotion (I wanna be)
Hold your hair in deep devotion (how deep?)
At least as deep as the Pacific Ocean
I wanna be yours

Secrets I have held in my heart
Are harder to hide than I thought
Maybe I just wanna be yours
I wanna be yours, I wanna be yours
Wanna be yours, wanna be yours, wanna be yours
Wanna be yours, wanna be yours, wanna be yours…

I wanna be your vacuum cleaner
Breathing in your dust
I wanna be your Ford Cortina
I won’t ever rust
I just wanna be yours
(Wanna be yours)
I just wanna be yours
(Wanna be yours)
I just wanna be yours
(Wanna be yours)

 

So its obvious that this is a very passionate, loving song. This poem is based on the poem written in 1983-1984 by British poet/artist John Cooper Clarke. It expresses  desire for the other person with cheesy metaphors and repetition of the title line “I wanna be yours”, obviously one can’t actually be a setting lotion but a setting lotion makes one look better and feel better, just like a romantic partner can make someone feel good, if of course its a healthy relationship and you’re not dating a sociopath.

You could easily serenade someone with this song, or dedicate it to someone as its in the second person and Alex Turner directly addresses his love interest. Imagine your SO singing this to you, I don’t know about you but that would make my heart and stomach do somersaults, especially if the lead singer Alex Turner IS your SO, with the voice of a deep angel.

Now, just like most Arctic Monkeys songs, there has to be a “naughty” element to it, written originally by Cooper Clarke, there’s a very discreet sexual innuendo in there, “If you like your coffee hot, let me be your coffee pot” – you TURN ON a coffee pot to HEAT IT UP, maybe referring to physical heat? If you didn’t click, and now you can’t hear this song the same way, I apologise, but it adds the element of passion and desire to an already steamy line…..ayyy pun, steam, coffee, get it? Ha ha ha

Oh and quick translation, “leccy” is British slang for electricity, you’re welcome ❤

This song is more romantic than it sounds on the audio, because Turner doesn’t really sound passionate or like he actually cares when he sings, its very monotone. However, that’s because he really wants you to pay attention to the words, if you think about it, he wants to be something that his love interest can’t do without, or has to rely on, such as “a portable heater, that [he/she’ll] get cold without”. He wants to be someone that the person relies on and almost wants to protect. Also, he shows the love will be forever or at least for a very long time, because those who are car nerds, Ford Cortinas rust after a long time being used, he said ” I will never rust”, relationship goals I believe?

Now in all honesty, I don’t really know what the whole Pacific ocean line means, however I guess it has to do with falling “deep” in love with that person, as deep as an ocean, but that’s just my guess. I may be wrong, if you think it means something else, please enlighten me.

Overall, despite Alex Turners very husky, monotone voice, this is a very romantic song and if you’re passionate about someone and want to prove it. Sing this to them, as well as loving the cheesy metaphors, they’ll feel all warm and fuzzy inside as you have shown your dedication towards them.

Leave a Reply

